selling handmade

Selling Handmade – Social Media {what?}

imageOne of the questions I’m asked is how to market effectively on Facebook and Instagram. I have read so so so much on this topic and it all says the same thing.  Ask questions, strike up a conversation, make sure you reply to the posters, post pictures. That is all great advice it really is.  But we are talking about combining our faith with our craft right. That is not something I’ve ever been able to find.  About a year ago I realized that keeping God out of my business was keeping him from being the center of my life.  I felt that I was not being genuine.  I started sharing more and more of my faith, I did loose some of the followers. But what I gained was so much more.  Not only did I gain more followers, I found some amazing ladies of the Lord who also sell handmade goodies, and I was able to learn from them.

This is what I have found is the most important rule of social media:

Ephesians 4:29
Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.

When you post questions, comment on others posts, post pictures, and interact, do it for the glory of God.  Which is pretty easy when times are good.  What about when a difficult customer posts comments on a picture? What if another seller says something nasty about you on their page or yours? Treat them with the same grace God does with us.  You can be forgiving and kind.  If you have an issue do not post it publicly.  We have the unique opportunity to share Gods love by our actions on a worldwide stage.  We never know who is reading our feeds, who we can impact.  Who we can pray for and who we can help.  I am most thankful of the opportunities I have been given to show God’s love to those who need it most.

If there are any topics you would like my thoughts on, please comment below or email me.
Glory to God
Becky

2 thoughts on “Selling Handmade – Social Media {what?}

Leave a Reply

