being intentional · faith · mama loves jesus

{31 Days} Jesus is Courageous

  

Courage: The ability to do something that frightens one. Strength in the face of pain or grief.
Jesus is courage.

I had always said I would NEVER homeschool my children. EVER. I wasn’t cut out for that, and my poor kids would probably suffer from my lack of organization skills. Then my Ryan entered into 4th grade. He has dyslexia and has accommodations in place to do a verbal spelling test if needed, his teacher wouldn’t do that and was being harder than necessary on him. So much so that he came home in tears asking me why God made him stupid. We tried to talk to the principal to no avail. We prayed, we talked to people, we felt lead to homeschool him. Let me tell you the terror that engulfed me as we started. Here is this sweet boy, who is 2 grades behind in reading and math. He gets so frustrated when he doesn’t get it. But God had me do this for a reason. In that year he regained his confidence in himself, he found out that his biblical hero is Joshua. He learned to memorize verses. He caught up in his reading level, and my husband got him doing algebra by the end of the year. It was really one of the hardest and most rewarding times. It took some courage on our part. Nothing like the courage Jesus had. I remember talking to Ryan about being courageous that year. His favorite verse then and still now is Joshua 1:9 {Have I not commanded you to be strong and courageous, do not be afraid or dismayed for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go}

Jesus is courageous.
He stood up to the Pharisees and called them out.
Matthew 23:3
So practice and obey whatever they tell you, but don’t follow their example. For they don’t practice what they teach.

We all know how they Pharisees were. They were loud, look at me, I’m so holy, hypocrites. Jesus knew this full well, and he made sure that the people knew that their ways were not the ways of the Lord. The Pharisees HATED him for it. He didn’t want people to think that their ways were holy or pleasing to the Lord. So with courage he stood up to their ways. To be courageous like this we need to stop fearing the opinions of our peers, and embrace the Lords opinion of our obedience.

Jesus is courageous.
He stood up for a woman caught committing adultery.
The story is in John 8:1-11 Jesus is sitting in the courtyard of the Temple teaching the people who have gathered by him. The Pharisees drag a woman to him announcing that she has just been found committing adultery. {I often wonder if she was dragged there naked, and where was the man she was doing this with? She can’t do that alone. I digress} They remind him that the law says she is to be stoned to death, then ask him what he thinks. I bet their jaws hit the floor when he said “Let any of you who is without sin be first to throw a stone at her”. From oldest to youngest the men all left {wisest first I believe} He asked her has no-one condemned you? and then said “Neither do I condemn you, go now and leave your life of sin” {my paraphrase} WOW so he took on an angry mom, ready to kill someone for their transgressions, reminded them that they do deserve the same fate, and did it in such a way they didn’t even argue. They could have turned those stones on him. I want to be courageous like this to defend his people no matter the cost.

Jesus is Courageous:
He was tortured, beaten, mocked, spit on, whipped, and crucified for our sins.
Luke 22: 41-44
He walked away about a stones throw, knelt down and prayed. “Father if you are willing please take this cup of suffering away from me. Yet I want your will to be done not mine.” Then an angel from the Lord came down and strengthened him. He prayed more fervently, and he was in such agony of spirit that his sweat fell to the ground like great drops of blood.

I know he is the son of God. But he was human, and this fear of what is to come is unparalleled, he had agony of spirit he was sweating blood. I have never been that scared in my life. He knew exactly what his sacrifice was going to entail. He was begging and pleading for it to not be so. He is God, he has the power of God, he could have said absolutely not this isn’t happening. Not a chance… nope nope nope. This here is the definition of being terrified about pain. And yet when the guards came to him with Judas, he was calm. When he was being interrogated and beaten he didn’t become beligerant or strike back. He just took it all. For me, for you, for anyone who wants to believe that he did it to be a sacrifice for our sins.

When I think of all the ways Jesus was courageous, it inspires me to be more courageous myself. I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength, and I can have courageous faith because Jesus is courage, and he lives in me.

Have a blessed Day my friends.
Becky

3 thoughts on “{31 Days} Jesus is Courageous

  1. Yes, just yes! I can totally relate. We started our homeschool journey this year with my 6th grader. He has learning disabilities and has been in speech therapy since entering school. The first thing I noticed when we started working together last month was his confidence level is very low. We take it day by day but I know I am doing the right thing for him.

    Lisa

    Like

  2. I love your posts! I am a homeschool mom too, and I am so glad I get to spend my days with my family! What you are teaching your son is inspiring!

    Like

Leave a Reply

