being intentional · faith · mama loves jesus

{31 Days} Jesus is the calm in the storm.

image

I live in Arizona, we have a monsoon season.  That means sudden crazy storms with lots of wind, rain, thunder and lightning.  We get insane dust storms, where there is almost no visibility.  Sometimes we have a warning, sometimes you don’t think it will happen, and they have a mind of their own.  If you are out and about when one hits, it really can be scary.  Then just as sudden as it started it is over.  The sun breaks through the clouds and it is serene and calm.  We get some of the most glorious rainbows out here too. 
Isn’t that just like life? We can’t predict the future, and Gods will isn’t something we can control.  Which brings me to this story.

Mark 4:35-41
That day when evening came, he said to his disciples, “Let us go over to the other side.”Leaving the crowd behind, they took him along, just as he was, in the boat. There were also other boats with him. A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was nearly swamped.  Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. The disciples woke him and said to him, “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?”
He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm.
He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?”  They were terrified and asked each other, “Who is this? Even the wind and the waves obey him!”

There are so many storms in our life.  Money, family, work, school, the list goes on and on.  We are given these storms to grow our faith in God.  We are given these storms so we learn to rely solely on Jesus.   There is the song that says “I will praise you in this storm”  and that is what we should do.  But to do that we have to wholly trust in him.  We have to know that he longs for us and wants us to want him.  Jesus died for us so we can see his love for us.  We have to choose to give him ours and then let it go.  So the next time a storm hits, take a step back, and thank God for choosing you to grow, for using everything to draw us closer to him.  

Have a calm day.

Becky

{Raw Personal side note}
I know I haven’t been consistent with writing.  Anxiety got the best of me.  I have both Anxiety and Depression.  Satan uses them to keep me from doing what the Lord calls me to do.  I will have such great ideas and plans, and then I get insecure, and afraid, and I don’t do them, and then I get down and succumb to the lies of Satan that I can’t be used by Jesus.  Then I get anxious that I will fail.  It’s a horrible vicious cycle.  I am asking you to please pray that in this current storm I keep my eyes on Jesus and his truth that all who believed are his.  And because I believe I have the power of the Holly Spirit within me. 
Thank you.

2 thoughts on “{31 Days} Jesus is the calm in the storm.

  1. I will definitely be praying for you! I too suffer with anxiety, insecurities & depression! I hot sick 11 yrs ago & had to quit work…I struggled with a “why”. God told me to write a book…He even gave me the title & the first chapter…then I got insecure & stopped. satan will not defeat us Becky, in Jesus name!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

